Lifestyle

My Basic Makeup Essentials!

Happy Saturday! 

Today I thought I’d share some of my everyday essentials with you all! I shop mostly drugstore, but if I have a little extra cash (or giftcards) I’ll splurge on some high-end makeup. 

On a typical day I don’t use very much makeup, but some days I do like a full face. And to some of you, what I use every day might seem like a lot and that’s okay; the best thing about makeup is it’s unique for everyone!

First things first, eyebrows. Eyebrows are my favorite and I usually do this after I moisturize and prime my face. Some days I like to do bold brows, so I’ll use a pomade. Other days I go for a more natural brow with powder. The product I love and have been using ever since I started filling in my brows is the e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit in medium. It’s extremely affordable at $3 and easy to use. It comes with a small dual ended brush that I never hesitate to use. 

Let’s talk about primer and concealer. These two items I feel like I have the least experience in. I’ve only recently gotten into using primer, but I have used it a few times in the past. After receiving a gift card I decided to pick up The POREfessional: Matte Rescue Invisible-Finish Mattifying Gel Mini at my local Ulta! I prefer a matte finish on my skin, but this product is great to mattify my skin if it’s feeling oily or if I want to wear a dewy foundation. Concealer is one of my best friends, I’ve been using it ever since I started wearing makeup. It’s the perfect product if I want to wear it over or under my foundation, or even by itself (depending on the state of my skin). Even though I have been wearing concealer for almost a decade, I haven’t really tested out a variety. I’ve mostly clung to Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Treatment Concealer. It’s definitely a holy grail product, it works the way it should giving decent coverage. I’ve set a goal to try some high-end products like the Tarte Shape Tape Concealer. There’s just a difference between spending  $7 and $24. 

Mascara is my lifesaver. If I don’t wear mascara then I look tired, and nobody wants to be told they look tired. I love Maybelline mascaras and usually use The Falsies Angel Push Up mascara. It has a great one-sided curved wand that glides through my lashes giving them the boost they need as well as length. For the past couple months (thanks again to that gift card),I decided to try out Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. I’ve heard just about every beauty guru rave about this product and have always been intrigued! Coming in at a whooping $22 this product gives me massive volume. I have short pathetic lashes that never seem to curl the way I want them, but with this mascara they actually have life. Someone complimented me on my lashes and asked if they were extensions! I find this product works best if it’s warmed up, so while I’m doing my makeup I usually stick the mascara in front of a heater! 

  

For now I’m going to save my face products for another post (and mostly because I’ve hit major pan on most of my powder products). 

If you’d like a more in depth review or how I use these products let me know! Or if you’d like me to try any new products! I’m always open to suggestions.


 

2 thoughts on “My Basic Makeup Essentials!

Leave a Reply

