Beauty · Lifestyle

How Do I Stay So Skinny?

This morning I walked into my classroom holding a bagel with cream cheese, totally normal. A coworker loudly asked “Tierra how do you stay so skinny?” With a mouthful of bagel I replied “I just do.”

So you’re probably thinking “so what, that’s a compliment” but I disagree. Would you go up to someone overweight and ask them “hey, how do you stay so fat?” You wouldn’t because that would be rude, right? But how is fat any different than skinny? 

All my life I’ve been the skinny one and all my life I have hated it. Being skinny doesn’t feel beautiful to me; I feel self-conscious, the same way an overweight person might. I feel like I have to cover up certain parts of my body because they’re like sticks to me. I’ve always been self-conscious of my height and weight.

Now you’re probably thinking “how is she complaining, being skinny isn’t the same as being overweight.” You’re wrong. For years my doctor has been telling me, for my exact age and height (I’ve been 5’9.5″ for a few years), I’m underweight. Being underweight means that I’m not healthy. It means I’m constantly getting sick, I’m tired, and could lead to osteoporosis. Being underweight could even cause fertility problems, which is scary for me to think about. 

I guess what I’m trying to say (rant) is that you don’t know what people are going through. If it was up to me, I wouldn’t weight what I do, but maybe 10-15 pounds more. I’m keeping my body healthy and trying to gain healthy weight (muscle mass) instead of packing pounds on with cheeseburgers. It’s hard to gain weight and not a topic everyone talks about because everyone with weight problems are trying to lose pounds, not gain them. 

Be kind to others and think about the way your words might affect someone. ❤

8 thoughts on “How Do I Stay So Skinny?

  1. This post is absolutely phenomenal because it is your truth. No one ever considers the other side of the story…. i have been overweight since high school…I have never been called fat, I prefer to be called “thick” but the reality is that there is a constant struggle no matter who you are, what you look like….it doesn’t matter. We all feel insecure, we all struggle with self-esteem….

    Thank you so much for this post. You really opened my eyes. I would love your feedback on my post https://ladyhoodjourney.com/2017/04/26/a-healthy-mind-the-story-of-a-thick-girl/

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on LADYHOOD journey and commented:
    As a “thick” girl, I have always considered the struggle that women who are overweight. I have been told by many doctors that it is not healthy for me to be the weight that I am for my height. Do I agree? Yes. Why? It is more important to be Healthy than it is to be Satisfied. I am ranting…

    I reblogged this post because the author opened my eyes to the fact that even the skinniest of people feel offended and insecure about the comments made about their bodies. We need to be careful what we say, and be mindful that our personal envy does not eliminate the other persons insecurities.

    No matter what, we are all beautiful and need to start viewing ourselves as just that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

