DIY · Lifestyle · pinterest

Father’s Day DIY Sign

Hey everyone! For Father’s Day I decided to skip buying something my dad could probably care less about (because he literally has everything) and recreate this DIY Pinterest sign. It appeared to be extremely easy and I knew my dad would love it. Also, I always feel like presents hold more meaning handmade rather than store bought.


Materials I used:

  • Wooden sign
  • Paint
  • Lug wrench
  • Wire

First I painted my wooden sign with a basecoat. I bought all my materials at Michaels. I used the Martha Stewart Crafts multi-surface satin acrylic craft paint in the color gray wolf. I loved this paint, but definitely needed two coats to achieve good coverage.


Next I used this crackle paint to give the wooden sign some texture. I applied this after my basecoat dried but before my topcoat. This was my first time using this medium, so next time I use this (and my advice to others) I would definitely use contrasting base and top coats, that way there is more dimension when the paint starts to crack. I still liked the appearance it gave.


Next I painted on the NESW. This part bigger me a lot. At first I wanted to engrave the letters into the sign, but it just didn’t look right. I ended up just painting over it with black acrylic paint, but next time I would definitely use a stencil. Last I secured the lug wrench to the sign with some copper wire. In the Pinterest sign they used nails, but I didn’t have any “rusty” nails nor did I really trust myself not to get hurt. 😂 


Overall I really enjoyed making this Pinterest inspired sogn! I look forward to making more and with this project under my belt, I know some tips and tricks for the future! 

Leave a Reply

