Beauty · Lifestyle · makeup

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation Review!

Hey guys! Today I’m going to review anotber new (to me) foundation. I recently ran out of my favorite Maybelline Fitme Matte foundation and decided to give this e.l.f. one a try. I’ve seen some other YouTubers talk about this product, but I wanted to try it out for myself. I picked this foundation up at Wal-Mart for $6. It come in a very limited selection of color and it was a bit difficult for me to decide which shade I am. I was in-between two different shades and picked the lighter of the two (because it’s easier to darken your face rather than lighten it, you know?).

On the box it claims to be “lightweight” and “oil-free” and it will “help even your skin tone for a long lasting, beautiful semi-matte finish.” It does have SPF 15 sunscreen in it, which I like for the summertime.

My first impression of the packaging was good. I love the frosted glass bottle with the pump. I rarely buy foundations with pumps, but so far I like it. When I pumped the foundation out to test it on my hand my first reaction was bad. It was such a weird grandma perfume scent. It’s nothing too strong and I can get passed it, but if you’re sensitive to smelly things then you might not be able to. Another downside is it only comes with 0.68 fluid ounces. Most products are at least 1.0 fluid ounces. My reasoning for this is that the product is on the thicker side so you don’t need as much product, but that’s just what I think!

I picked up the shade Natural (previously porcelain). It’s not a complete match to my body, but it matches my neck (the whitest part of my body). I used my Beauty Blender to blend it in and I can honestly say that the application was pretty effortless. I was impressed with how it evened my skin tone and the finish was a semi-matte (just like the claims said). I definitely prefer a matte finish, but it’s a great base for all the other products.

Throughout the day I couldn’t really feel the product on my face. At one point it felt itchy, but that could have been anything so I can’t blame it on the foundation. I work with kids that are constantly touching my face so the product did wear off the most on my chin and nose. My face also got oily around my forehead and cheeks.

Overall I rate this foundation a 6.5/10. Pros: thickness, SPF, coverage and lightweight feel. Cons: smell, amount of product and lack of shades. I would definitely recommend this product to someone looking for a cheap drugstore foundation. I’ll keep using this until it’s gone, but I am not sure if I would repurchase.

Hope you loved this review. Let me know with a like or comment what your favorite foundation is!

Leave a Reply

